Three New Appointments to Senate Education Committee

Three New Appointments to Senate Education Committee

CTE Policy Watch: A blog for CTE advocates

Three New Appointments to Senate Education Committee

Posted: 06 Jan 2017 09:35 AM PST

The Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor and Pensions (HELP) has jurisdiction over a number of ACTE’s legislative priorities, including the forthcoming reauthorizations of the Carl D. Perkins Career and Technical Education Act and the Higher Education Act.

In the 115th Congress, the committee’s 12 Republicans and 11 Democrats will continue to be led by Chairman Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.), a former U.S. Education Secretary and university president, and Ranking Member Patty Murray (D-Wash.), a former educator.

The committee will also welcome three new members, including Senator Tim Kaine (D-Va.), a co-founder and co-chair of the Senate CTE Caucus. When Senator Kaine’s appointment was announced last month, ACTE issued a press release congratulating him. He will join two other Senate CTE Caucus co-chairs, Senators Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.) and Johnny Isakson (R-Ga.) on the committee.

The two other senators newly appointed to the committee, Senators Todd Young (R-Ind.) and Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), a former Congressman and Governor, respectively, were both first elected in November 2016. ACTE looks forward to working with Senators Kaine, Young, Hassan and the other HELP members in the new congress.

For a full list of the committee and more information on its newest members, check out this blog from EdWeek.


Posted on

January 9, 2017